Giving thanks for thanks

If you’re a regular reader, you know how much I love Allie’s thank you notes from thxthxthx.com

Sometimes I give my mom a really hard time about enforcing the use of the words ‘please’ and ‘thank you.’ I’m concerned that people (especially young impressionables) are being taught that just because you say these words, you’re showing that you are thankful or appreciative.  I think it takes more more than that. The expression of thanks is, in my opinion, useless unless that gratitude comes from a place of genuine appreciation.

Laura Trice gives a really short talk about the importance of saying thank you. One of her examples, a lady who gives her husband a list of things she’d like him to thank her for, might negate my previous point about thank you’s needing to be genuine, but I thank her for sharing it with us.

Thanks friends and strangers for reading my words and providing me with a reason to hold myself to a higher standard.

Leave a comment