NWYN – Boxing Day in the Alleyway

Toronto sparkled on Boxing Day.

In other years, the sparkle would have been from the reflection off the snow, but boxing day was like an early spring or late autumn day.

Eight degrees Celsius and sunny!

First alley find was a mural I’ve noticed a number of times near Bloor Fruit Market in Koreatown. These are details of a much larger piece. I love the words about painting and freedom. I do believe this can be transferred into any creative or physical outlet. For me, it`s writing, swimming, biking, and, when the conditions are right, longboarding or walking,

nwyn boxingdayinanalleyway (2) nwyn boxingdayinanalleyway (3)

After a brief interlude at home, I knew the sun coming in through my windows was calling me out for more. So I set out on my bike and found these on a meander-ey route up to Kensington Market from Queen West.

Next was this magical find, which I could see from a distance. The face of Max and his Wild pals can be recognized from far away. This mural is so brilliant because of the way it uses the vines that grow naturally as part of the image.

nwyn boxingdayinanalleyway (14)

This isn’t the only brightly coloured piece in the alley though. The whole row, almost, is filled with murals. I kept taking photos, which I’ll get to shortly, but then I saw that there was an opportunity to ‘read the plaque,’ which was, in this case, a mural in and of itself.

nwyn boxingdayinanalleyway (18)What a lovely sight for the children to see from their playground, which houses its own little bright beacon of colour too:

nwyn boxingdayinanalleyway (21)

I’d biked past this alley a number of times before but never thought that there would be so much to see because it doesn’t look like much, looking south from College:

nwyn boxingdayinanalleyway (1)

But it is. And here are the rest of the shots from the row:

nwyn boxingdayinanalleyway (20)

nwyn boxingdayinanalleyway (19)

nwyn boxingdayinanalleyway (22)

nwyn boxingdayinanalleyway (12)

nwyn boxingdayinanalleyway (15)

nwyn boxingdayinanalleyway (16)

nwyn boxingdayinanalleyway (17)

nwyn boxingdayinanalleyway (13)

 

Leave a Reply

