NWYN – Clarity After Noon

Notice What You Notice is mostly just a collection of photos, but, as my dear friend in Vancouver teaches his students, it’s also about seeing your own neighbourhood with new eyes… so that every walk and stroll is a new adventure.

I set out, armed with my weapon of choice:

image

This time of year is particularly adventurous given that the colour of leaves change daily and the sun’s angle makes for striking shadows:

image image image

A new tag will always add to the journey… you never know what witticisms you’ll come across:

image

The flowers in bloom at this time of year are seemingly so grateful for any amount of sun they get, so they almost appear to hug it when it reaches them:

image

Sun is filtered through the greenest of leaves at my favourite cafe, busting with the hops that will go into the beer down the street:

image image

Reflections on metal add a depth to signs when you’re standing in the shade:

image

Days like this are perfect for checking out the exhibits for the shows you’ve been meaning to see:

BRAND NEW STORY by Sarah Clifford-Rashotte at Le Gallery

Sarah’s work captured me when it was a gallery on Ossington that has long since closed, so I was glad to be on her mailing list and find out about another of her shows. There was more to the show than below, but Endless 2 (Flaming/Drowning) was definitely my favourite.

image image image

image image

STORY TIME by Elise Mercieca at Milk Glass Co.

The second painting was determined by the lovely Milk Glass Co. intern Taryn and I to be a representation of what Nuit Blanche is sort of like. We all scurry around like little mice, with the music and the neon lights.  Not sure that’s what the artist was going for, but it was fun to imagine and remember our Nuit nights through the lense of the painting in front of us!

image  image

image

I’d noticed this new mural when it first went up, but this was the first chance I had to really spend some time with it. I especially love the way the pipes have been incorporated into the painting!

image

image

image image

This walk finished with me coming back to something I’ve captured before; the shadows of the grass on my back fence.

image

2 comments
  1. Johnc865 said:

    Today, while I was at work, my sister stole my apple ipad and tested to see if it can survive a 30 foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation. My apple ipad is now broken and she has 83 views. I know this is entirely off topic but I had to share it with someone! bbdecgbkebke

    • Lee Anne said:

      It IS off topic. Perhaps you felt compelled to respond because the act of testing would be something that someone might notice from afar!?

Leave a Reply

