NWYN – Art Battle 31

Wow. It’s been a while since I’ve been to an art battle, but tonight it still managed to fill me with joy and a form of meditational calming.  The best two things about going to art battle are that you get to see a painting be created from start to finish, and you get to see the painting and the paintings super close.

I don’t have a lot to say that I haven’t said before, but I’ve included a gallery of images of the few shots I managed to capture of some live painting, and also the parts of the paintings that drew me in. For some, these are in finer photographic detail than others. They’re holding a contest for the best photo of the night… these are from my cameraphone, but maybe one of mine will win me $50… which I’ll obviously put towards another painting at the next event.

Congratulations to all the painters, but especially to Carlos Delgado, who deservedly took the title of AB31 champ.  He’s incredibly talented and VERY fun to watch paint. His ability to capture and play with light in his portraiture is awe inspiring.

Also congratulations to Andres Correa, who boldly chose to try a new technique tonight, and who continually amazes me with his live painting.  Tonight he signed the painting I bought for my nephousin Parker at a previous Art Battle, when Andres tried an abstract style in homage to Chris Pemberton, one of the Art Battle founders and organizers. I can’t wait to give that original to Parker for his 2nd birthday.  Even more so, I can’t wait to bring Parker to a live painting event in the future.

Art Battle National Championships are on Tuesday, July 24th at The Great Hall.

Leave a Reply

