Freon

Yeah, so…

I’ve gone from landscaping to office work and energy efficiency to air conditioning.

I’m one of the ‘lucky’ ones who has air conditioning during this ridiculous heat wave.

Dare I say, though, that I kind of miss the experience of needing to keep spray bottles all over the house to spritz balmy water onto desperately sweaty skin?

I miss the need to hang out on my tree-top back patio with a pitcher of ice water; with barely enough energy for the amazing conversations that spur from heat-stagnation.

I miss sharing the futon with my stranger roomie, because it’s the only place in the house where we could get any air flow.

I miss sleeping naked with a weak fan blowing already hot air against my feet, in the kind of heat where even my toes sweat.

I miss you, crippling heat, but I’m pretty sure my REM cycle is enjoying the capacity to sleep more hours than it takes for the spray bottle water to evaporate from my body.

1 comment
  1. Therese said:

    Ahahaha! Oh no you don’t miss it. Trust me!

Leave a Reply

