abtastic

Screw you; toronto drivers.  Pay attention.

So, I almost got hit by a car driver on Friday.  I rang the hell out of my bell, and my headlight is blinding, but she still turned left across my lane and nearly provided a terrible t-boner for me.  Luckily I was able to swerve with her into the road she was driving onto.

I yelled ‘W H A T    T H E    F * * *!!!!????!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!’  She barely put up her hand to say sorry or even acknowledge how close that was.  Then I nearly collapsed over the front of my handlebars and screamed at the top of my longs ‘ ‘AAAUUUUUGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!’ 

Now, I feel like I’ve pulled a muscle just below my sternum. 

Near-death experiences are SO much more effective than ab-rollers.

 

 

3 comments
  1. gramps said:

    ah yes, riding a bike it Toronto. I’m glad that you didn’t get t-boner but sorry to hear about the sternum. many drivers are just unaware of 1) bikes; 2) the close-calledness of the accidents. I keep wishing I could ride around with a dozen eggs in my pocket and be able to throw them when something like that happens. It is so unsatisfying that they can just drive off without any repercussions. argh. i suppose the only solution is to go home and procrasturbate.

  2. gramps said:

    oh. and in my experience, bike bells are about as good at alerting drivers to your presence as this is real

  3. Nathan said:

    Yeah Bigwood,
    Here in Colorado people talk on cel phones and drive with one wheel well into the bike lane. We recently had a lady who ran over and killed a 6 year old child and she admitted that she was on the phone and didn’t even notice that she had hit the child. They recently passed a law that you can’t drive and hold the phone at the same time. It has become the most ignored law ever.
    Sheesh, I wish gas would go up to about twelve bucks a gallon, then maybe we could ride our bikes in peace.

    Still snowed in
    in Colorado

Leave a Reply

