Actual intentions

Yesterday I posted a list of resolutions that are used by almost everyone.  It’s almost as though it’s a mantra that many people chant to themselves for the first two weeks of January.

I do actually have some intended goals/resolutions/plans that I want to put up here to keep myself somewhat accountable.

  • Be less accessible on the phone – I’m slightly terrified at the expectation that if I get a telephone call, I must return it as soon as I get it.   Or worse; that I must answer it regardless of what I’m doing.  I’m going to take a lesson from my manfriend and leave the phone at home a bit more.  Turn it off when I’m sleeping.  Ignore it if I’m in the middle of a conversation with someone.
  • Blog a bit more about real life – I like all the links I post, and the fabulous little finds that I put up on this blog, but somehow, I think I’m copping out and not getting in as much writing as I would like.  I would like this blog to take a turn for more the more personal.
  • Be less attached to the computer – now this is a bit of an overstatement. It kind of relates to my first goal of being less accessible. I don’t neccessarily want to be ON the computer less, just less obsessed with checking virtual modes of communication.  I would like to ease up on the gmail, the facebook, the hotmail, etc.
  • Go for more walks – around my city, around other cities, around my neighbourhood, around and around and around.  Just more.  I love it, so I don’t know why I don’t do it more.
  • Take more photos – this part of my life has slowed down significantly, and I want to change that.
  • Make more soup – I used to be kind of compulsive about making a soup every week. Now I can’t remember the last time I made some.  It’s the greatest way for me to do the next one:
  • Save MONEY – ok. This one is predictable, but is neccessary.  But I guess this one needs description too. I don’t want to be frugal.  I don’t want to be a penny pincher.  But I don’t want to WASTE my money on stuff I don’t need… ESPECIALLY food on-the-go.  I want to make better money decisions so that I can go on more trips, do more tourism in my own city and others, take more classes, etc. 
  • Spend more time with my mom – this is something that many people always say they wished they had done.  I lost both a Nana and a sort of Grandmother-in-law this year.  Both of their daughters were devestated.  I saw a bit of a sense of guilt in my own mom around the intentions to spend more quality time with her mom.  I don’t want to have that guilt.  Quality time, here we come!
  • Read more hardcopy pages – I’m a recent university graduate and have become totally lax on the reading front.  I just don’t really do it anymore.  I had to renew a book from the public library that should have taken me less than 2 weeks to read.  I’m on my 5th week.  That’s a little sad.
  • Get out of my bubble – in every sense of the saying.  This will be more explored in the weeks and months to come.

Okay 2009.  I don’t know if you’re going to be a happy one, an exciting one, or whatever.  But you’re going to be a tad more productive, and I’m going to attack you like a panda does eucalyptus… only because that’s pretty damn cute, and I wanted to end on a note that didn’t make me depressed.

1 comment

Leave a Reply

