coccinellidae, eh?

that’s the name for a lady bug. I found out on wikipedia.

I was on the subway recently, on the way to Main station, and I got startled mid trip by a lady bug on the window. Right next to my head! Took out my camera right away, and took many MANY unsuccessful shots.

Ten points for those true torontonians who can tell which stations are featured in the second and third pictures!

these people took WAY better shots of some coccinellidae:

http://calevphoto.com/2008/04/17/the-ladybugs-are-here-hurrah-hurrah/

http://jdphotography.wordpress.com/2008/04/14/first-lady-of-spring/

http://heatherwilliams.wordpress.com/2008/04/14/photo-of-the-day-13/

..but come on. Mine’s on the window of the TTC!!!!

1 comment
  1. Heather said:

    I like that 2nd shot – a little bit like the lady bug is actually on a spider web, with the flaws in the glass. :)

    I’m guessing Castle Frank station? Not sure though.

    Thanks for the link to my coccinellidae photo – I’ve learned something new today, had no idea what their official name was.

    Cheers,
    Heather

Leave a Reply

